RSS

The Pros and Cons of a Gamestop Employee

24 Jun

There are many preconceived notions about being a Gamestop employee; the fame, the opportunity, the geekness. All of it seems wonderful and lovely, but sometimes it’s a struggle. Do you lose yourself to ‘the man’ and succumb to its wonder, or do you stave away, forever starved? I’ve compiled a list to think about if you’re ever in the situation. Life or death, mind you (zombie apocalypse, duh).

Pros:

First of all, you get to work around video games. And for most people, that’s good enough. You get to talk about video games all day. Everyone that comes in wants to know what you know and how you know it. And even if they don’t want to know, you can still jam it down their throat. Secondly, you get some rad swag. Everytime a new game comes out (at least the big titles) you get some type of lanyard or tshirt. Sometimes, it’s even bigger o_o.

(Duke Nukem cock not included)

Free stuff is always a plus (just don’t try to sell it or you’ll get fired, literally). Next, you get to work with people who share your common interests. You get to work and talk about games, and not get scolded for it. Except for those guys that work with you that don’t have a life outside of video games. That’s a toughie. And oh yeah, did I mention the free rentals? You can check out games, as long as they are at least a week old, for three days at a time. Can’t beat it in three days (pansy)? You can check it out again in a week. I have played so many games through the system. Oh yeah, and you get free food. Most of the time, you’ll be asked to work midnight releases. If you do, you’ll always get some free pizza and drinks.

(^ totally a fake pizza)

Delicious. Lastly, your super wicked discount. 15% off for employees, which only doesn’t go towards new consoles. And if you’re an LGA (keyholder) or higher, you get a free one year power up rewards card. So if you’re getting used games, looking at 25% off.

But there is never a one night stand without one person being unhappy the morning after.

Cons:

Most of the time, you’re working under someone who slacks. This doesn’t happen -always- but never ceases to fail at some point in your Gamestop career. You also always have to sell pre-orders/reserves and subscriptions/power up cards. If you don’t make your numbers one week, you better be on your toes the next week. Even in the dry season, you’re required to sell. Even if people don’t want what you want to give them, you make them take it. Y’know, like Dumbledore and that potion thing to get the locket. Next, the work attire changes almost every other week. One week it’s fine to wear gamer shirts, the next it’s polos. So be prepared to have a wardrobe. After all that, you will be given sets of ‘chores’ to do, which really are busy work if you are in a low-lying store. Things like ‘move this section over here’ then the week after have to move it back. Seasonal times are always a bitch and a half also. Asking off is like pulling teeth, even with the extra help they don’t want to let you go. Then, there are children. They are there to wreck your store.

(Professional baby wrecking crew. Don’t try this at home.)

Beware, as you have to keep the walls alphabetized. And the last thing is dignity. For girls, it’s not so bad. Guys come in to see you and are very jazzed about the experience. However, for guys, it can really break your internet penis. Some of the hardcore gamers see working at Gamestop as being a sellout and some will even delete you from clans.

But getting to work with hot gamer chicks totally negates it for the most part.

So hopefully that answers some questions about Gamestop. Not everything is sunshine and daisies, but it’s also not completely horrible! You decide!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 24, 2011 in Gaming

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “The Pros and Cons of a Gamestop Employee

  1. Auvic

    June 24, 2011 at 11:43 pm

    So on a scale of horseshit to disappointing, how bad was Duke Nukem Forever? 8D
    I’m still pretty full of nostalgia over the original Nukem, so I’ve no real desire to play the new one, ishly – but the reviews I’ve read haven’t been very kind to it. :/

    Also – how hard are those numbers to meet? For the most part, I haven’t really heard good things about working at Gamestop, whether it’s the management or rampant sexism or…whatever.
    Or if you haven’t had it, yay for you! xD

     
    • The Little Black Kat

      June 25, 2011 at 10:22 am

      Lmao it was mildly disappointing. If you liked Duke Nukem BEFORE…you’ll still like this one. It just really isn’t up to part with games nowadays.
      The numbers are only hard to meet in the dry season. Every other time of year, it’s easy (boobs always win). There’s no sexism in my store, but I can’t speak for other stores.

       
  2. Lee

    June 25, 2011 at 12:59 am

    I like this post a lot. Many people think Gamestop is the best thing ever and possibly their dream job.
    Two of my closest people (and one of their girlfriends)have worked there. The benefits are alright, but man did I hear a lot of complaining. The impression I got was that most people think you play games all day if you work there, when if you go in the store, you never see that. (I suppose Starbucks employees drink coffee all day too.) One of my friends switched over to Play N Trade and liked it a lot better because he could actually help the customers instead of worrying about the dreaded numbers (which cannot be met always, especially at a bad store)
    And lol, the sexism. Gosh. I heard of people going in all the time who would ask for a male employee when a female was readily available to help them, and females will sometimes get less hours even if they have the same or better numbers than their male counterparts.
    But there’s also the racism. Many don’t know but stores are color coded in something like black, white, and other depending on the area it’s in.
    All in all, I’m just glad I’ve never worked there. All I heard about was drama and bs, and the benefits aren’t good enough to put up with most of that crap.
    But if you work there and have a good store, good for you. 🙂 There needs to be more good stores.
    No drama or crap, just hard work and happy customers.

     
    • The Little Black Kat

      June 25, 2011 at 10:24 am

      It’s hard. I’ve heard horror stories of bad stores, and we have those in our district. Thankfully, we’re out in a slightly more remote location. We have a culmination of races in our work team, and the same in our customer diversity.
      And the awesome thing about sexism is, if they don’t want to talk to me, I still talk to them. Bahaha. You can’t avoid ME.

       
  3. Erin Darnell

    June 26, 2011 at 2:25 am

    I hope that your DM doesn’t treat you like trash. The one that I used to work for in NYC was terrible! Having worked for the company for two years and doing EVERYTHING they asked for, they never moved me up despite being trained for it. My actual store manager was a great guy, and our store was one of the best in the whole district because we were a strong team, which was mostly female (in other stores that I would help at, most of the co-workers were male and got way more hours, but I did a better job overall… lol). I honestly never encountered much sexism as I did racism (I was the only white girl working with six stores), but I never ever let that become an issue. I abused my right to refuse service at several locations.

    Despite all the negative experiences, I rarely had any issues with my co-workers (until the end, I killed my chances of coming back) or my customers… though occasional the marriage proposals were funny but creepy all at the same time. I might also be a glutton for punishment, but I loved doing TOH and Marketing. I took the AC:Brotherhood window display home with me! Do I miss my GameStop Kids and Regulars? Yes, but we all know that great things must past, but soon, I will be able to walk in and see something that I help create on the shelves.

     
    • The Little Black Kat

      June 26, 2011 at 10:30 am

      It’s difficult. We have a pretty rad DM. Sometimes he makes us do weirdo chores that he’ll reverse the next week. But I kind of understand the busy work; in our store, if we didn’t do it, we wouldn’t have anything to do o_o. I like doing TOHs too, especially because it gives me time of the floor and not behind the desk. We did have the most girls in all of the district, but that didn’t change much (and now the numbers are dwindling…we used to have 4, now just 2 lol). It’s hard…every store is run differently than the next. Might have just gotten lucky yknow.

       
      • Allyn

        June 30, 2011 at 11:47 pm

        Title-On-Hand counts. Wow, that takes me back…

        I was an EB/GameStop manager for seven years. The GameStop era was just six months; I wasn’t having fun any more.

        I don’t know if it’s still done, but with EB we did Perpetual Counts daily and Class Counts on each category once a week. I was seriously hard-core about doing those; I had a part-timer that I would never have expected it from steal an Xbox and a PlayStation 2, and that makes one really think about why you do the things you do. Suffice it to say, my counts were meticulous. My product was organized. The system I used (count backstock first, then guts) let me know instantly if I had product that wasn’t represented on the shelf.

        So TOH counts weren’t an issue when I started having to do those under the GameStop system. The first week might have been the worst, because there were boxes that had been stolen for which I had the guts. Maybe fifteen, twenty titles total. Made the boxes. Next week, the TOH counts? Two, maybe three titles in each section. Maybe.

        My Regional Manager came one day to look at my paperwork. She accused me of falsifying my TOH counts. Bill Chinn, the company President, made a visit one day, which was odd because North Carolina is really far away from the Texas headquarters. He checked my TOH counts. He made me find boxes on the shelf, because he was sure he was going to find something funky going on. He didn’t.

        It just didn’t register with people how someone could do TOH counts and have them come up as 99-plus percent accurate week in and week out.

        That was partly why I left. The company had no respect for non-standard thinking, which, five years ago, meant EB thinking. EB always prided itself of letting its manager make decisions. EB gave us lots of tools and let us use them as we saw fit. It wasn’t the process that mattered, it was the end result that mattered. GameStop, though, treated original thought as something to be avoided. The worst thing someone could do at GameStop was to think outside-the-box. The process mattered at GameStop in ways that it never did at EB. Store managers at EB made decisions, store managers at GameStop were sixty hour a week part-timers.

        I’d like to think the culture has changed in the past five years. I wouldn’t go back, though, even if I do, at times, really miss doing class counts and store inventories. 🙂

         
      • The Little Black Kat

        June 30, 2011 at 11:54 pm

        Our store is pretty clean and organized, but if we had a manager like you I’d be saved. Someone who actually gives a damn about the store…makes me wonder if the switch whittled all of you out of the system. I really wonder what gamestop was thinking in all this mess :/
        It really does surprise me how many customers will take the boxes off the walls, thinking they’re stealing games though lmao.

         

Leave a Reply

 
